Thoughts on practicing into a net?

MBAndrews21

I’ve been hitting balls into a net a home quite a bit. The idea was to get my mechanics right, without worrying about ball flight.

However, I’ve noticed that my swing looks different when I hit into a net. This makes me worried that I am wasting my time practicing the “wrong thing”.

What are your thoughts about practicing into a net? Has anyone had success with doing so?

I’ve been hitting into a net for a couple of years now with a real ball and it’ definitely has it’s advantages and disadvantages. 

imo to make great strides it’s almost required to have a reliable launch monitor and hit a real ball and take lots of swing videos. 

I definitely have a garage swing and course swing because there is no pressure in my garage and it’s a drastic difference. My garage swing is so good it looks like I could be a professional. My course swing has people amazed I can sniff scratch. Even my driving range swing is different than my garage swing. 

In the end I highly recommend it as you age as long as you have proper feedback.  There zero chance I would have been able to keep my handicap when my daughter was born going from 90+ rounds a year to 9 holes a week during daylight savings time months. 

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, MonteScheinblum said:

The greatest success I had making people better at golf was during the lockdown in 2020 when I was doing 30-40 face time lessons a week.  People just worked on their Motor pattern and were unconcerned with ball flight.

Yes, If the player is working on a swing mechanic, I think its the best way to practice. Ball flights screw up your practice.

• Like 1

Mizuno ST180 9.5, Tensei CK Blue S 60g

Mizuno ST180 15 (16), Tensei CK Blue S 60g

Mizuno CLK 2020 3H 19, Tensei CK Blue S 70g

Snake Eyes TC-01 (4-P), S300 (130g)

Cleveland CBX2 52, DG 115

Callaway MD5 56 & 60, S200

Odyssey White Hot #2 (Steve Stricker's putter)

MCC in woods, Lamkin Crossline, Srixon Z Star