2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

PGA Tour Players Who Swing Like Hogan

Are there any? Who are they?
Howdy all,

I have been practicing and playing golf for 38 years (I am 48 yo). I have been teaching the game for over 25 years. In that time, I have read and watched just about all the teaching methods and swing theories out there. I firmly believe that there is no one right way to play this game, only different ways. Having said that, I have recently returned to studying Hogan, the man and his teachings. I studied Hogan many years ago but then went in a different tangent for a while. I have enjoyed rediscovering his Five Fundamentals, interpreting what he wrote, and comparing it to the videos of his swing.

What I want to do next is gather video of modern/current tour players who apply the Hogan methods especially the lower body movements/foot work. That is where I need your help. Who out there purposely tries to swing like Hogan? Who looks like they swing like Hogan? I plan on going to several tour practice rounds this year to video swings and I want to compile a list of players. I am not familiar with all the players and don't want to miss any prime examples. Most of the players I grew up watching are well past their Champions Tour prime. This is purely a personal research/learning project. I would appreciate any input you might provide.

Play Fast & Play Often,
Beener

• Replies 130
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi mate,

I'm not much of a swing guru so I'm not going to be a massive help but the one guy you should watch on the PGA Tour is Jonathan Byrd.

It's my understanding that he was originally taught to impersonate Mr Hogan's swing and he has continued to study it throughout his career. Don't get me wrong, it's not a carbon copy. That being said, you can certainly see similarities between the two.