Equitable Score Control (ESC)

Does everyone know about this?
I've been playing golf for about 12 years now, and I just learned about equitable score control (ESC). Does everyone on here use ESC when calculating their handicaps? Is anybody else in the dark about ESC like I was? In case you are, here's some info:

http://golf.about.com/cs/handicapping/a/whatisesc.htm

This can have a MAJOR impact on your handicap.

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yes - when you sign up to keep an official handicap this is in the info or rules for keeping a cap.

Β 

This definitely has an impact. the example in your link puts it perfectly -

Β 

"For example, on that one disaster hole you might have taken 14 strokes......Taking the "14" might throw your handicap index out of whack. And remember, the handicap index is not meant to reflect your average score, it's meant to reflect your best potential."

ESC is a critical component of the handicapping system. Failing to use ESC when entering scores will result in a handicap that is not valid.

Β 

That said, my personal thoughts are that the handicap system, even with equitable stroke control, is imperfect as it stands and subject to manipulation by those inclined to do so. It seems that there are predominantly two types, players with vanity handicaps who can't play to them, and sandbaggers who keep their handicap at a level that always gives them an edge when playing in net competitions or for wagers.

USGA Index: ~0

[b]WITB[/b]:
Ping G410 LST 9 degree - Tour AD IZ 6x
Ping G410 LST - Fujikura Pro TourSpec 73Β 
Kasco K2K 33 - Fujikura Pro TourSpec 73Β 
Callaway RazrX Tour 4h - Tour 95 shaft
Ping i200 5-UW (2 flat) - Nippon Modus 105X
Taylormade HiToe 54 (bent to 55 & 2 flat)
Taylormade HiToe 64 (Bent to 62 & 2 flat)
Palmer AP30R putter (circa 1960s)
Taylormade TP5X Ball