2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Hole in one question ?

johnnypar

Some get 'em and some don't
How long have you been playing golf without a hole in one ? Or what is the longest period in between holes in one ?

I have played for 27 years (lots of golf). I am an 11 handicap and have never had a hole in one.

The closest I ever came was the ball resting on the lip with air under about 20% of the ball.

I have seen about eight of them, some of them from my partners and most of them were from

bad hits. Line drives,,off trees,ground balls. Then there were the few well struck balls.

I guess - some get 'em and some don't.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been playing for about seven years now and have yet to get one. I have had allot of balls that were tracking in then ended up a few inches short, and on one occasion my ball was rolling towards the hole, hit the pin and glanced off.

I have never seen a true HIO either but one time my friend hit his first tee shot in the water then hit his second attempt in the hole. The nicest par I ever saw.

I've been playing about 15 years, have only seen one (crappy shot like you said). Off a greenside bunker rake, bounced once and skidded across the green and hit the flagstick pretty hard. But I still call my him "Ace".

The closest I've gotten was on a crappy shot, a low push-hooked 7 iron, it ended up about 40% over the cup.

Some day.

I've got my hole-in-one on my 6th round (I think it was 6th). I shot 98 that day (pretty proud of that achievement on my 6th round) on a really difficult course, but hole-in-one was just plain lucky. The ball hit the side hill, took a good bounce, and rolled into the cup. My dad, who has been playing over 25 years and a scratch golfer still don't have one. It just happens to some people I guess?