2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Found the perfect hybrid (finally)... and it's from Miura

RLL33

Found the perfect hybrid for me (finally…), and who makes it…? Miura.

I’ve been trying hybrids since the first TaylorMade Rescue came out. Been through all of the TM’s, then Bobby Jones, Ping, and Titleist. Still went back to my 4-iron as inevitably the hybrids either ballooned on me or started hooking even when I played fine with them for a while. Stayed with the Titleist 910H the longest because I could adjust it. But it sometimes felt head heavy, and the black paint on it chipped easily, distracting my eye.

I’ve been playing Miura wedges for a few years, especially after trying the Y-grinds. So when I saw they had a hybrid, I figured why not, maybe the description as a club much more like an iron in appearance at address and assurance of no ballooning would hold up.

I’ve gotten all my wedges directly by calling the Vancouver Miura office (amazingly there are no Miura dealers that I know of in LA proper…), and while being on the “friends of Miura” list has been a real treat for me for a lot of reasons, I decided to go to ace fitters David Dugally and Sean Greenbaum at TheGolfCoastOnline.com down in Orange County to build me the hybrid. After a good talk with David about it, and my affinity for Project-X shafts, he turned me on to the new Project-X Black shaft and sent me the HB-3 (20 degree) with Project X Black 5.5.

Well, first hit on the range – the sweetest sound and feel I’ve ever had anywhere near a bybrid. I mean S-W-E-E-T! Crisp but soft, smooth as those wedges, and the Project-X Black was incredibly solid even though lighter than I expected. Every shot a nice little baby draw. And no ballooning – even when I caught one good to 200 yards. Flew like the 3-iron I still can't hit is supposed to...