2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

New Nike VR Forged Pro Combo Review

driveandputtmachine

This is a bit long winded I know, but hey I am not a professional writer.

Nike 2014 VR Forged Pro Combo Iron Review

HNDCP - .8 – 2.1 over the last three years

SS – Driver AVG 118

Aggressive transition and late release

Strengths – Driving, Putting, Chipping, Mid irons

Weaknesses – Bunker Play, pitching, wedge play

Miss – Pin High normally misses on both sides

I am a pretty decent player having finished in the top 20 in the Georgia Public Links in 2011, however due to some circumstances I have not been playing much golf or practicing over the last 2.5 years. I have either been to the range or the golf course every week for the last 5 weeks trying to get my game back into shape for tournaments and have my swing “somewhat” grooved.

I previously played J40 CB’s with flighted Rifle 6.5’s. Length +.5”, Custom lofts and lies. I hit this set pretty well but was stuggling some with the long irons as I tend to be a medium/low ball flight guy. I cannot stand to look down at a ton of offset, or a huge topline. I understand the benefits, but if I do not like the way something looks I will never hit it well so I cannot play Super GI irons or their like.

I received the set with standard rifle 6.5’s in them and immediately removed the shafts, and put in 6.5’s flighted and bent to my previous loft and lie configurations. I did my best to SW them close to where I was with the J40’s as well. I have been to the range every day this week testing and comparing to my old clubs.

First I must say that these irons are gorgeous to look at but while the offset shown on the spec sheet is lower than my J40’s they do not appear to be all that different. I do prefer the look of these heads looking down at them and they inspire confidence right away and I thought the J40’s were the best looking heads I had seen.

Head 2 Head PW – 8iron