2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

What is the best shot you ever hit

wings02

As you well know, golf is a game of skill and luck. I would love to hear from members about their "best" or most exciting shot ever hit. Yes, my hole-in-one in May 2023 was my most exciting especially since it was my first one ever and I've been playing golf for over 52 years and presently playing to an 8 handicap. That aside, I just hit what I would have to call my second best shot ever this past Friday. I have some explaining to do because it involves hitting from the "Ladies" tees. I play at Woodfield C.C. in Boca Raton Florida. Our 9th hole is a tricky par 4 playing 362 from the Blue tees (6,200 yards for 18 holes). The green is almost a right turn from the tees when played in the fairway. Most second shots to the green require you to hit over the water which butts up against the green. For SH TS and giggles, I sometimes stop at the ladies tee on that hole and try to hit the green which is around a 240 yard carry. I have attempted  this just a few times (never succesful) and will only consider doing it if we have the time and the wind direction is at my back. This past Friday was the perfect time. I took my Driver, which I extended to 48 inches a few days before just to have some fun, adjusted the loft on my Callaway Paradym Triple diamond to 12 degrees and gave it a whack. Probably the best swing I had thus far that day and the results were very exciting. I hit a nice high shot that carried the water and landed 2 feet from the pin (247yards according to the scorecard) before rolling out to around 15 feet. Yes, of course I missed the putt but really did not take my time with it. Pictures are below. Sorry for the wordy narrative but obviously I was very excited!  Would love to hear from others describing their best shot!

IMG_0596.jpg

IMG_0587.jpg

IMG_0588.jpg

Edited by wings02
  • Like 3

Congrats and sounds exciting and fun!