Rubber Cement, Blow On and Other Grip Installation ideas

TG313

I worked in the golf business 25 years and saw how they treat other peoples clubs. Consequently, I have always changed my own grips. For many years using solvent and double sided tape as taught, then I switched to Rubber Cement and painters tape.

Recently, I decided to try different types of grips to find the one best for me. Since I was trying a dozen different grips anyway, I thought I would experiment with every application technique I have ever seen or read about. I have compiled some data and here are my results.

#1 – What idiot thought Hair Spray, Kerosene or Gas were good alternatives to regular solvent. Is changing your grips such a last minute decision, you don’t have time to buy the proper materials? Were you one of those kids that chewed gum off the sidewalk because going to the store is just too hard? Don’t do that!

#2 – You can blow on any grip but some take more tape than others to hold well. Some as many as 3 wraps. I don’t know if it is the inside diameter of the grip or the compound its made of but many twist with just 1 layer. IOMIC and PURE both held the best.

#3 – Rubber Cement does not hold anything (sorry believers, I was one of you). It simply acts as a lubricant to get the grip on easier but is not providing adhesive qualities. If you want to use it to make the grip slide on and adjust easier you can but a grip that won’t hold on 1 layer of tape, still won’t hold with RC.

#4 – Hot cars will screw up everything. If you leave your clubs in a hot car all day, they will loosen up. In fact, a few hours in a car on a hot summer day (90 degrees) and I even got double sided tape to loosen and blow off. It took short bursts of air and some twisting but came off.

#5 – Given the info above, you would have to be an idiot to waste time injecting solvent into a grip in an effort to save it. If you like changing grips around, there are plenty that hold without double sided tape.