2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Tourcavity blades or ???

thomz0_

I saw an old thread on this but I want opinions.

Tourcavity pro(MB's) cast 1050 SS, gold s300 shaft blah etc. 2-PW set. Also have the regular tourcavity forged's.

Played em when I was a kid(2002'ish) lofts are obviously weaker than my current XR's, 2 club length difference between them.

Do I play them for the chrome/looks and pride? Or do I take forgiveness and additional distance? Curious what ya'll think since I'm new to WRX, I enjoy the threads :D

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

IMHO I would not worry one iota what anyone else thinks play what you like or what works best for you. With irons especially your scoring irons you need accuracy foremost not distance again IMHO. By my signature you see what I play. It does not bother me one bit if someone hits their new PW from where I hit my old 8 iron. Those Cally irons you have are some really hot irons distance wise. I have hit several since my home course is now a Cally dealer. This is just my .02 worth

Driver--- Callaway Big Bertha Alpha--- Speeder 565 R flex

3W--- TM V-Steel TMR7 REAX 55g R

7W --- TM V Steel UST Pro Force 65 R flex

9W--- TM V Steel Stock V Steel R flex shaft

5 Hybrid-- Cobra Baffler DWS NVS 60A High Launch

Irons 5 thru PW 1985 Macgregor VIP Hogan Apex #2 shafts

SW -- Cleveland 588 56* Shaft Unknown

LW Vokey SM5 L Grind 58* 04 bounce Stock Vokey Shaft

Putter -- Rusty 1997 Scottie Santa Fe-- Fluted Bulls Eye Shaft

I played a set of those, back in the day.

They were Golfsmith's version of the progressive cavity set, conceptually similar to the Tommy Armour 845 EVO, as one example. Cast 304 stainless, maybe even 8620 carbon, don't remember for sure. Decent set, I ultimately decided to stick with my assorted blades.

If you like them, there's no reason not to play them. They're a quality clubhead.

The Ever Changing Bag!  A lot of mixing and matching