What to look for in a golf instructor?

Therefore, I am looking for a golf instructor for my seventeen and ten years old sons.  Seventeen years old has been playing for 18 months while the ten years old is a complete beginer.

What do you look for in a golf instructor?  What is a reasonable price in Northern Virginia?  I was quoted $145/hour.  Is that reasonable?

TIA

10 minutes ago, Medson said:

Check out this thread. "

"

Thank you.  

There are two Pros in my areas of Northern Virginia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Estes

https://www.thumbtack.com/va/oakton/golf-lessons/golf-professional-mike-vechery/service/266696700444443668

They charge between $145 and $175 per hour.  Can someone on this board provide some inputs?  I am new to this.

Hard to comment on specific pricing. 

- Do bring up it's for junior golfers. Most(if not all) coaches have discounted rate for juniors. 

- It might be worthwhile to buy a package of lessons. More discounts. 

I do remember there are folks in MD/VA area. So they may comment on specific coaches and prices. 

I guess i would ask you , “what are your expectations for these kids”

do you want them to have fun? Are you looking for college scholarships?  

you are the client since you are paying, what do you want.

if it’s for fun then maybe you are looking for group lesson settings.  Lessons on Kids (and many adults) usually is a waste of money if you ask me.  They usually don’t practice what has been taught so from lesson to lesson there isn’t any progression.   What they need is a dedicated time to commit to golf each week, and group lessons like first tee at least provide that.  If your child excells or shows exceptional talent then individual lessons may be warranted From that point

Edited by weavej1
  • Like 1

Wishon 10.5 919 driver pure grip
Pure fit Raw ID 4 wood star side winder
Ping rapture 21 degree gripmaster wrap
4-pw Maltby dbm with aerotech regular gripmaster wraps