2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

What driver shaft to match DG X100 iron shafts

Deep Sunoji

Dear Wrxrs,

What driver shaft weight/flex do you all play with in combination with DG X100 shafts in irons. I am struggling with my driver since I started playing DG X100s in my irons - mostly snap hooking my driver. It could possibly be a swing issue but my driver used to be the best club I could swing but not anymore since I started playing DG X100s in my Blueprints, hit my 7i about 170 yards on an average. Driver swing speed about 107 MPH and above, play 55 stiff to X Stiff shaft in the driver.

Edited by Deep Sunoji

Thank you @greenomicsand @hagimihale - One thing I missed mentioning is the grips. My irons came with the Golf Pride Midsize MCC+4 and I really liked them but my driver and woods/hybrids have standard size grips. I just got my driver re-gripped with the same grip as my irons and I think it feels good. Haven’t played a round or practiced but I will report back once I hit some balls. Now when I start reading about standard versus thicker grips, the latter helps to keep the face open through impact but with the standard(thinner) grip I am closing the club face since I feel I am using my hands more and can’t control the club. Kind of a moment of revelation (already have a few such moments as I am self taught). 
Also, the thicker grip is heavier which makes the shaft act as a counter balanced shaft which I like since the PING G425 Max has a heavier head. Excited to try - if this works, I will try heavier shafts as well and move to the mid size grips across the board!!

Edited by Deep Sunoji

@Deep Sunoji  your observations on grip size are relevant. 

MCC+4 standard grips are the equivalent of regular size grips + a few extra layers of tape on the bottom hand. I made that change years ago on all of my clubs.  It helped to slow down my hands a bit, and that feel worked for me too.