Ping Beryllium Copper Irons Questions

First post and a little background. I've been playing golf (or giving it a good attempt) for about 30 years. No chance of making it to a Tour but find the sport a way to escape the world for a few hours. No clue what my handicap is but generally score in the low 90's. My modern set of clubs are Taylormade Stealth irons, Ping wedges and Ping G430 driver/woods.

I have a connection with older clubs and will play with a set of Ping Zing 2 irons and recently purchased a set of Ping Eye 2 Beryllium Copper irons. They have stiff shafts, which I cannot hit worth a toot, and will be swapping them out with regular flex shafts (Nippon Pro 950GH). I've re-shafted other irons and putters and I'm curious if there is anything unique about re-shafting the BeCu irons? Just please don't tell me Ping used ball bearings to seat the shaft. Re-shafted an old Ping putter that had this and it was not pretty.

Tempted to keep the stiff shaft in the pitching wedge, but my swing speed isn't fast enough to support stiff shafts. I've got a regular set of Eye 2 irons with ZZ Lite shafts and it feels like a 2x4 as I swing. Just never got around to re-shafting them and would rather put the effort into the BeCu irons.

One more question... these irons were fitted with steel shafts. It is okay to use graphite shafts in them, right? If so, any thoughts on shaft weight? I have 65 gram graphite shafts in the Taylormade and like them. Would that be too light for the BeCu? Or does it all boil down to personal preference?

Appreciate any insight.

Edited by Coppertop1880

Same process to reshaft BeCu irons as any other irons. As long as you have .355 taper tip shafts you’ll be fine. You can put graphite in them, but back then Ping used very light heads. I would recommend using a graphite shaft with a lower balance point like MMT’s and play them 1/4” to 1/2” over length to get them to a reasonable swingweight.

Edited by hammergolf
  • Like 1