2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Fix my laid off backswing - if you could help me never shank again that would be cool too

I have been unable to fix my laid off backswing and this video is actually not that laid off compared to others.  3-5 handicap, currently a struggling 4.2.  I've struggled with hell contact since I started playing golf and have thought I had it fixed so many times.  I must have multiple pieces that cause me to hit it off the heel because it's always there.  Swing path is 3-5° in to out and my ball flight is hooks/blocks except when I hit the heel and it could look like a pull, pull slice or still a pull hook.  

I've had a few lessons over the spring/summer.  One wants me to lay it off more and the other told me I hit the heel because my swing is too handsy.  His recommendation was to hold it off vs releasing early.  

Edited by Lefty_3Jack
In search of solid contact...

27 minutes ago, lookylookitzadam said:

I fight a very similar issue. More vertical wrist set helps along with a shorter arm swing. Monte has a video about hitting a lob wedge as hard as you can with not going past left arm parallel that has helped me. 

I've done the point the butt of the club to your toes/inside the ball and I always end up flattening it out/laying it off at the top after that move.  It's a really, really tough thing to fix for me.  The only thing I've done that worked was to make a horrendously long arm swing that is above my shoulder and it throws off my sequencing/gets arms even further behind.  

Below is what happens when you’ve been traumatized by the hosel 🙂C37AC0E4-F0A6-4006-925A-3A8944A8E4F2.jpeg.4b35ec634d58300e4c556f5d9a495d4e.jpeg

Would really like to see a face on to confirm some things. You being laid off isn’t the end of the world unless your swing gets long and the club lays off more, then it can be a problem.