Has anyone regretted buying the new P790s

edwelly

Hello all. I have been playing golf for ~20 years. I have been fortunate to have shot in the upper 70s a few times. My current handicap is a 10.3. However, I am 50 now. The body does not move like it used to, nor do I have the time or desire to practice like I once did. Last in 2022, I traded my J40s for set of ZX5/ZX7s and I started off well with those. But in the middle of the year, it started going downhill for me. My scrambling was the only thing that kept my scores descent. I do not like the look of the ZX4/ZX4 MKII, so I am considering trading in for the new P790s. I want something that is just easier to play with. I really don't care about my handicap any longer - the desire to be a single-digit capper has passed. I just want to enjoy playing again. 

I really like the way they look. They do not look huge to my eye. And they are supposed to be easier to hit. They are not super strong lofted. They check a lot of boxes for me. 

So has anyone bought the new P790s and hated them? Any recommendation on shafts? I have played Project X for a long time and my current shaft is the Modus3 120S and I like it. 

TIA

-Erik

Taylormade Stealth 2 Driver
Taylormade SIM2 3HL
Taylormade Dual Rescue TP 4H
Mizuno JPX923 HMP 5i - GW
Mizuno T24 52* & 56*
Cleveland H.B. Soft Premier 11S 

@jeffrey r - I just read the thread and you are right, that guy hates the P790s. I am going to try them on in a couple of days and see. I just want to enjoy golf again. 

-Erik

Taylormade SIM2 3HL
Mizuno T24 52* & 56*

23 minutes ago, edwelly said:

@jeffrey r - I just read the thread and you are right, that guy hates the P790s. I am going to try them on in a couple of days and see. I just want to enjoy golf again. 

-Erik