2024 Wells Fargo Championship WITB Photos ×

Laser or GPS?

What is the better range finder
Sorry if this has been done before but....

Between the laser range finders and the GPS units available now, what would you choose for a range finder and why? For purposes of this discussion, lets assume you are a regular recreational golfer that might play in a couple of local tournaments governed by USGA rules. (i.e., not a hack, but not a pro).

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Between the laser range finders and the GPS units available now, what would you choose for a range finder and why? For purposes of this discussion, lets assume you are a regular recreational golfer that might play in a couple of local tournaments governed by USGA rules. (i.e., not a hack, but not a pro).

When I worked in a shop, I always said that if you travel and play a lot of different courses that a GPS will be better since you rarely get to see the golf course before playing it. If you play the same courses often and play in tournaments (where a practice round is generally taken advantage of) go with the laser... Lasers are more accurate as well... +- 1 yard vs. as much as 5 yards w/ a GPS unit...

Titleist TSi3 - 10 Degree - C1 - T1 - XC-6 S 44.75"

Titleist TSR3 - 15 Degree - C1 - T1 - Tensei 1K Black 75S 

Titleist TSR3 - 18 Degree - C1 - T1 - Tensei 1K Black 85S 

FliHi Pro 3 - 20 Degrees - ProjectXU 6.0

MP-18 - 4, 5 MMC FliHi, 6 SC, 7, 8, 9 Blade - Oban CT-125 S

Mack Daddy Forged 50, 54 @ 55 and 60 DG S200's

All Irons and Wedges 4 Degrees Flat

Golf Pride Victory Cords on all the above - IYKYK!!!

Ping Cadence Ketsch - 34" w/ SuperStroke Wrist Lock