Newbie in my first tourney

Question about exchanging scorecards
I'm a newbie who's playing in my first tourney on the 13th. How is this scorecard exchange done? I trade cards with my partner and I follow his play and track and write his score and vice-versa so there's no cheating? I know it seems like such a simple stupid question but I have seen a few PGA pros get a DQ for screwing this process up, so I figure it could not be that stupid of a question.

-A

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't play in many tournaments, but in the ones I have played the scorecards have had a place for me to write my fellow competitior's score and a "notes" area which can be used by me to write my own score, making it easier to confirm what my fellow competitor recorded for me at the end of the round.

I've always made it my practice to announce to my fellow competitor what I believe his score to be at the end of each hole, so there is no uncomfortable confusion at the end of 18. While I find this "announcement" practice beneficial, I don't see it done universally.

I'm curious as to what others have to say here.

The starter would usually have you guys switch cards at first hole...there's usually a space at the bottom of your opponent's card to keep your own score. After every hole, announce your score and verify that what you're writing down is what your partner actually have.

Good luck and understand the other guy is probably just as nervous as you.

It would be really annoying to have someone announce my score 18 times during a round. If you have no idea what the player you're keeping score for made on a hole, then go ahead and ask. It's pretty easy to keep up with someone else's score. I've been playing tournaments for a long time and I can't remember anybody announcing the score after each hole. There's nothing worse than getting on your playing partner's nerves.