2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Mizuno Irons - What is the hype?

Furrankee

It seems like a lot of us in this form use them for irons.
Hi guys. I'm relatively new to this golf site and while searching thru most of the members' bags, I noticed a lot of us use Mizuno irons. I went to a golf store the other day and demoed some. They're soft, yes, but do they make a difference in terms of feel off the face? Do people purchase them because the price is reasonable for what it's worth? I personally love irons that allow me to actually feel a mishit even if the mishit is off by fractions of an inch...provides good feedback in other words. Maybe I can't feel how soft some of the irons are because my swing speed isn't fast enough.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think it has a lot to do with tradition and branding.

Mizuno has arguably been one of the most outstanding - if not THE most - outstanding forged iron throughout the last decade. Nick Faldo, Seve and several other of the best in the early 90's played with Mizuno irons and this reputation has made Mizuno a brand that the "elite of golfers" want to use and have in their bag.

On top of that Mizuno can forge an iron like no other factory and the design is great looking too.

Mizuno has slowly built a reputation of being "the players iron", a reputation they share with Titleist (why I don't know, because I personally don't think Titleist makes irons in the same class as Mizuno does)

I don't think swing speed has to do with the ability to feel the softness of a Mizuno forging - if you hit it in the sweetspot, everyone, no matter the swing speed, will feel the softness of the Mizuno forging.

But I also think there is a SNOB factor to buying Mizuno irons.

It's like the Loius Vuitton of irons, if you know what I mean ;) :vava: :)

I'm a BIG fan of Mizuno irons myself - but also like Miura, Hogan and Ping :crazy: