2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Who introduced you to golf?

pitbull808

Simple topic that maybe can be chimed in by everyone here in Golfwrx land. :drinks:

I started at about 8 years old with a cut down hickory shafted Otey Crisman putter my dad gave to me. My dad had turned the backyard into a putting green and I'd be out there after school putting around. Soon after I had my first junior set of four clubs and would be hitting balls and wiffle balls from our yard to our neighbords yard. Although I played a lot of sports in between including baseball, football, and basketball, golf was always my favorite.

• Replies 105
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started playing seriously about a year and a half ago.

In college I'd go to the driving range with friends and just goof around, but when I graduated, I started to really get serious about it. It's now my only release, I figure it's much better for me than going to a bar (although it's not any cheaper :drinks: ).

I was first introduced to golf by my neighbor Daniel. It was the summer before 7th grade when I was 13 years old. We started by hitting wiffle balls around in the backyard. Then I took "Hook a Kid on Golf" at my local golf course and was instantly hooked. I bought an old set of Northwestern men's clubs at a garage sale. The next year I went all out and bought the clubs I still have now. No one else in my family golfs. My parents say they want to learn but I'm afraid my Dad would get too angry with the sport. He has a short temper. My Dad can talk golf but does not play. It's weird having my parents visit me over the summer at my internships. I can show them the facilities but we never play. I'm glad they have supported me in my golf adventures.