Is anyone using stats to focus their practice? If so, what app?

I'm wondering if anyone here is using stats to focus their practice and what is done for their game. Are there some apps that have stoked gained and have proved helpful to practice focus?

TSR3 9° Tensei Black 65X
TSi2 15° ATX Green 75TX
917F 18° ATX Green 85X
ZX5 MkII 4-5 / ZX7 MkII 6-P  Modus 120X
ZipCore 50° Modus 120X

Vokey SM9 54S/60M Modus 125 Wedge
Nike Neo

ZStar

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

No disrespect meant, but do you really need to track your stats to know if your short game is not good? Do you need to track stats to know you are not hitting fairways and greens, or if you 3-putt a lot?

I've been playing golf for over 50 years, and at one time kept track of fairways hit, GIR, up and downs, putts, etc. It didn't really tell me anything I didn't know, and took time to mark my scorecard and transfer it to an excel spreadsheet I had set up. I knew my short game, especially greenside wasn't good. It didn't take a stat tracker to point that out. Bladed and chunked chips told me I needed to work on it.

Bottom line, it's your decision, but I would bet tracking your stats wouldn't tell you anything about your game you didn't already know.

I play up & down on practice green, par is 2, play 30 or so from 30-90 feet and no two exactly alike. Score it, try to get best percentage, go on course know my odds. Had a round where I went 9/12 on U&D and 27 putts. Credit that. Started doing this on range with short, and mid irons, going after faux greens, 'fairways' w/ metals again ascertain a percentage, been winter so cannot say if it works but it's helped change how I practice and adds practical focus. The process is a bit of a pressure test, a crucible and is helpful to mental game too.

Bottom line, it's your decision, but I would bet tracking your stats wouldn't tell you anything about your game you didn't already know.