Coaching youth sports

mtgrizinmn

So I have been a volunteer soccer coach, both head and assistant, for our local youth soccer association for several years. I played through high school and into college.

Recently I have been helping with my youngest daughters team and there is one girl who is consistently 1/2 hour late to a one hour practice, doesn't want to listen, refuses to pass the ball, and just has a bad attitude. At a recent practice I was trying to work with her and was trying to show her the proper way to position herself to pass the ball and the correct mechanics. After working with her and letting her go for awhile I circled back and had her show me what she learned. She still was not doing it correctly and was actually just kicking the ball onto the other field. I asked her to go get it and come back and try a little harder.

Now I feel I need to give a little background on this girl. She is the daughter of a know drug dealer who is currently in prison for a long time. Her mother was also arrested on felony gun charges, but is allowed to be out because they have three to five children together. The daughter anytime any coach tries to correct a behavior she begins to cry and pouts on the field. She refuses to come out of games when we try to sub her, is out of position, and will willing take the ball away from teammates. Her mother waited until two weeks before the first game to order her uniforms, which require special order and printing, even though they were available to be ordered starting in February.

So I show up to practice yesterday, the first since last Thursday, and was told that I was not allowed to work with this girl or correct and skills that she was doing incorrectly. Her mother had complained to our association and the coach that I was hard on her and she didn't deserve it. I was only allowed to tell her she's doing a good.