2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

My Work Around COVID-19 (no politics please)

BeerPerHole

I'm an engineer who works in hospital facility design, and I write mechanical plumbing and HVAC codes for healthcare facilities. Work, as you might imagine, has been a little crazy lately. When it looked like this bug wasn't fading away in China I did what I've always done and fully immersed myself in any available research. I'm seeing all kinds of uninformed stuff on the internet and the news about it. Lots of anxiety out there. I can't help but chuckle at the toilet paper craze. The thing that sets this baby apart is how contagious it is. Remember all your old rules to get you through flu season? Step it up a notch. Early on, and still, I suggested we treat this like it's airborne - not unlike measles or TB. My theory was supported by a paper published by johns hopkins a few days after I drafted my notes for my organization. Very contagious, possibly airborne. It has demonstrated, at least, that it flies much better than what we see with the flu. We'll know more as we get more time with it. Now's not the time to ride crowded buses or commuter trains, stand in crowded elevators, etc.

I like to joke that a golf course is a great place to be. I'm standing by that. Leave the pin in the cup. I like golf, good beer and Al Czervik because we have to find balance in life, and there's been a little pressure in the office lately. I sincerely hope you guys and your families get through this unscathed.

I think we have done a decent job here in Quebec. Our premier early on advised against large gatherings, cancelled schools and daycares , we say we've invested in hotlines and tests etc. Most people seem to be doing the social distancing thing. Our stores are mostly empty and we only have "24" confirmed cases right now