Hand Tailored to the Ginty....Stan Thompson

3 hours ago, deejaid said:

So our esteemed member Foozle asked for a bit more info about Stan Thompson.  I am by no means an expert on the history of Stan Thompson at all.   Info on his clubs is scarce so just going to share what I’ve gleaned from different sources.

Stan Thompson was born and raised in Kansas City and went to work with Kenneth Smith which I assume would be at the Shawnee, Kansas factory.   After learning from Kenneth Smith, Thompson moved West to build clubs,  settling in Los Angeles in 1937.

His clubs were similar to Kenneth Smith in that they were custom fit to the customer and very high quality.

Through the 40’s, 50’s, and into the early 1960’s, Stan Thompson built his clubs in Beverly Hills, and the soles are stamped as such.   These high quality persimmon woods rivaled or even surpassed all the big manufacturers.  Lovely head shapes from beautiful pieces of persimmon.  The clubs were stamped “Hand Tailored” on either the sole plate or crown.  He also built high quality forged irons.

By the mid to late 1960’s Thompson moved his business to Culver City, CA and began focusing more on laminate woods and becoming a larger retail presence.   In 1973 he introduced the “Ginty” rescue wood, a laminate wood with a large zinc keel shaped sole plate and a shorter more upright shaft.  He even launched a Ginty iron set with the keel shaped sole.

Like many of the smaller builders Stan Thompson went out of business bumpy the mid 1990’s and Stan Thompson passed away in 1995.

As for collecting, when I first started buying vintage clubs on eBay a few years ago I kept coming across Stan Thompson woods and they always looked great to me.  Coupled with the fact they didn’t cost as much as the highly sought after Macgregor’s but just as good quality started my Stan Thompson collecting.

I tend to focus on the 1950’s era Beverly Hills clubs.

16638ADE-0366-443C-B631-BA5E2B60C4B3.jpeg