Heat gun question for removing shafts

1_Putt

I am a hobbyist club junkie and have been using a micro torch for years to remove graphite shafts. I have had pretty good luck but with some of the newer composite heads such as RAZR Hawk I'm afraid even the micro torch may get a little tricky to keep from damamging the head or finish. So I want to give a heat gun a try.

How long does it typically take to heat a head with a heat gun before the head will come off?

Do you basically just point the heat gun at the hosel and leave it there? (with the micro torch you must move it around)

Is the highest temp you can get out of a gun best? Or can it be too high?

What temperature typically is used?

Where to find a good gun?

Thanks

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

A lot depends on what kind of puller you have. With a hydraulic puller and a Makita heat gun set on max, about 1000 F, it takes a couple of minutes while continuously moving the gun around the hosel area. You can use most any heat gun.

It is better if the output is adjustable. Mine is, but I got it for wiring my race cars and it is probably overkill for removing shafts.

Both will work, but it depends on your puller as said and the type of epoxy used for the installation. Most good epoxies break down around 200-275 degrees. When pulling it's best to be patient, especially with composite heads. I will sometimes wrap the head with a wet towel leaving only the metal portion exposed and concentrate the heat there. One thing you have to be patient with, is allow the heat to transfer. Heat the head and stop for a couple seconds, if you continuously heat the head at 1000 degrees as mentioned above, you will potentially cause damage.

[quote name='NWS Alpine' timestamp='1307114256' post='3282214']
Use a torch. Much easier on those heads as you can hit a specific area with the heat. A heat gun is much harder to concentrate the heat. Use the gel or wet towel if you are worried.
[/quote]