2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Scoring not following ballstriking improvement….

So, a little about me. I’ve been playing golf for over 30 years, and when I was in my early 20s was a decent golfer, although never great. However, family, college, starting a career, all of these got in the way, and I really didn’t golf much more than once or twice a year for many years. The last 5-6 years, I have really devoted myself to the game again. I was really struggling off the tee and my ball striking was not great (sucked really- fat city). I was at least putting OK and chipping fairly decently at that time. However, I recently changed courses and my previous courses had slope ratings of 128 and 135 respectively. Now my new course has a slope rating of 147 (all slope ratings from tips- I don’t play those) and is a prior PGA (Nike Tour) stop. My ballstriking has dramatically improved as I have spent quite a bit of time on that and I am getting off the tee pretty well (much better). Thank you @Monte Scheinblum! However, I used to score in the mid 80s and now I am struggling to break 90. My index has risen from 10.8 to 15.3. This course is much more difficult putting wise and I used to think I was a decent putter but now I realize I suck! My chipping is also not very good, or at least is sporadic.

Any specific drills from a chipping or putting perspective? I currently will hit 4-5 putts from 20 feet to gauge speed only, and then 20 putts or so from 6-8 feet. I’d like to be more focused however…thoughts?

Happy 4th!!!

M

Callaway AI Smoke (GD TP XC 6)/ Tour Edge C722 (Ventus Blue 6)/ Titleist TSi 3 (Tensei AV R-W 6)

Callaway AI Smoke 3W (GD TP XC 7)/ Tour Edge C722 3W (Ventus Blue 7)/ Titleist TSr3 3W (Tensei AV R-W 7)

Callaway AI Smoke 5W (GD TP XC 7)/ Tour Edge C722 3H (Ventus Blue H)/ Titleist TSi3 3H (Tensei AV R-W H)

Tour Edge C722 4&5H (Ventus Blue H)

PXG Gen 5-0311T 6-AW/ Takomo 301 MB 4-PW-RM4 GW/ Taylormade P-790 (2018) 4-GW