2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Started with MX25, went to G425 but not happy. What now?

HGLucky13

A little background- 52 yrs old, live in Tucson, AZ. I've only been playing for 3 yrs. I've taken 7 lessons so far over that time, and plan on taking more as needed. Playing in the middle 80's on a good day, lower 90's on a bad day. PW goes 145 Overall, 7i goes 177 overall, 5i goes 193. I started playing with a used set of Mizuno MX-25's I got for $120 dollars. I told myself once I was in the low 90's consistently I would get a new set of irons. So last November I went to get fitted for new clubs. I really loved the idea of getting the Mizuno Pro 223's or the not out yet JPX 923 forged for my next set. But I felt it would be better if I went into the fitting with out any expectations of what would be the right club. I left it up to the fitter to guide me. I was fit into a set of Ping G425 irons.

I would have to say that hitting indoors on a mat was awkward to say the least. Not at all like hitting on a range, or on the course. I had good numbers for all of my clubs as I had been using the Garmin watch and club sensors for about a year before I went into this fitting. My numbers during the fitting were not close to the averages of what the sensors were telling me. I tried to talk to the guy about that, and he gave me the rolled eyes look and actually made a few comments during the fitting about the numbers I gave him. He didn't seem interested in seeing my app numbers. I realize I am not the best ball striker. I was very inconsistent with my swing, especially at the time, as I had only had a few lessons before this fitting. But what I was seeing at the fitting didn't seem to match up to what I was experiencing in the real world.