Houston Memberships

Drea

I have recently moved to the Heights area and looking for a course/club to join close by. I toured and really liked the Golf Club of Houston, I also looked at Memorial but it is mats only to hit off on the range, and not a fan of that. I want something decently nice with good practice areas, but also not trying to drop 50-100k on initiation fees. Any recommendations?   

Unless you’re willing to pay a higher initiation, your options are pretty much limited to either of the corporate owned groups - escalante (GCOH, black horse) or the club corp courses up in the woodlands. 

personally not a big fan of any of them. 

Champions is a good option but pretty inconvenient from your location 

Edited by ND2005

As a heights resident myself sadly there are no good options without dropping some coin. Royal Oaks isn’t terribly far away and last I talked to them was sub 50k. 

I was planning on joining GCOH and then my window got smashed in in the parking lot and when I asked if they had cameras they said did you park over there? Yeah that happens often here, so needless to say I’ll never spend another dime there. 

Titleist TSR2 9 w/Ventus Black 6X
TM BRNR Mini 13.5 w/Ventus TR Blue 7X

Titleist TSR3 18 w/Ventus Black 9X or TM P760 3 w/HZRDUS Black 6.5 105
Artisan FC 4, Artisan HC 5&6, Artisan MB 7-PW (4 TI X100 120, 5-PW TI X100)
Artisan 51,55,60 (51 TI X100; 55,60 TI S400)
Artisan 0117 Slant Neck

bleep

Edited by SnowbirdTom
Deleted

Srixon ZX5 Mk II LS 9.5 driver x-flex

Srixon ZX Mk II 3 wood stiff

Taylormade Stealth II 2 hybrid x-flex

Srixon ZX-7 4-6 irons stiff

Srixon Z-Forged II 7-PW stiff

Cleveland ZipCore Tour raw wedges 52/56/60

TM Spider GT-X putter

XXIO premium bag on MGI Zip AT cart

Srixon Z-Star Diamond ball

Just went through this exercise for courses on the SW side.  Looked at Braeburn, westwood, Riverbend, Sugar creek, Sweetwater and also Golf Club of Houston.