5 Things that make me go Hmmmm...

Mr 61

Each time I go to a golf course, I notice that same things that annoy me.

1.) Why does it take so long to pay? Each time I pay, I feel like I could buy a new car in the same amount of time. The cashier seems to be clicking around on the computer way too much. Sure, I'm not familiar with the software, but if it requires 20 clicks, it's out-of-date.

2.) Why is alcohol so expensive? I understand that alcohol will likely be more expensive at a golf course then a convenience store. But, why does it cost 5x more? For example, a 6-pack of Bud at the store is around $6-7. At my club, the same 6-pack, at happy hour prices (buy 5 get one free) costs $25. Then, you have to tip--so call it $30. Many courses try to prohibit outside alcohol from entering the course. Couldn't they simply charge a reasonable amount and people would be less tempted to bring their own?

3.) What is the purpose of a Ranger? I've been playing golf for 16 years and have never once seen a Ranger do anything that I'm expecting them to. Aren't they there to ensure a quick pace of play? I usually see them driving around looking for golf balls. So, my green fee is more to pay this guys salary, while I get absolutely no value.

4.) Why is Pro Shop merchandise so expensive? I understand that Pro Shop probably doesn't have the buying power of a Golfsmith. But, perhaps they could if they charged a reasonable amount. However, I think most Pro Shops are targeting the convenience side of the market. They know that if you arrive at a golf course without balls, tees, or a glove you're willing to pay the premium. What about clubs? Who is buying a club at a Pro Shop without shop credit or something?