Want to try a more forgiving iron: sell the 921 Forged and start over with better shafts/heads? Which ones?

RoyalMustang

OK, so I have been playing a set of MMC MP20s w/DG X100 120g shafts since I started playing in July.  They seem fine, but I still wouldn't mind getting something with more mis-hit forgiveness; I am not a 2 HDCP or anything like that. I don't need "distance" as my 8-iron (pictured here) is a solid 165-170.  My friend plays the same iron and I can't help but think that if he is a 3.5 HDCP, I should be in something more forgiving. 

I bought a set of 921 Forged here (with LZ 6.0 shafts) and the setup is not working for me.  I bet it is the shaft though, not the heads.; they just feel super soft and vague.  It is difficult to find the right shaft and head combo. I wouldn't mind trying any sort of other slightly more forgiving player's iron, such as Titleist AP3, Srixon 585, Ping i210, in addition to the 921 Forged.  I have tried the i210 before but it had the super light Ping shaft, which didn't work.  Of these, which would you choose? 

I just don't know what shaft is suitable.  Stiff or X-stiff?  weight needs to be 120-130; I do know that.  Shafts that I have liked: Modus 130X, X100 120g DG, S400 (on my wedges), PX 6.0.  it is hard to get a feel in a fitting unfortunately and the best way to find out is likely to just buy a used set and see what I like: 

At this point, I have 2 options: get the 921 Forged re-shafted as an experiment, or buy and sell another set here with a shaft that may work in a similar "forgiving player's iron).  

Here is where my swing is at (yes, I know about my rear foot: working on it!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XrX-wu45qBM

Edited by RoyalMustang