2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Ping i230 5-iron alternatives - i525 retro or i530 6-iron?

Hey folks,

I've been gaming my i230s for about 9 months now, and absolutely love them. However, I feel like my 5-iron is holding me back a bit. I typically end up reaching for it at least 2-3 times a round either for long par-3s, or approach shots on long par-4s. Typical i230 5-iron carry is 170yds (85mph SS), totalling out to 180yds. Next longest club is 4 hybrid which is more like 185 carry, 195 total, and my 6-iron is 155 carry, 165 total. So the gapping is solid, it's more that I can't hit the 5-iron well from anything other than a tee or great fairway lie. 

From comparing club specs on the Ping website, it looks like the retro loft i525 5-iron should be perfect (if I take 1/4" off the length it is identical in terms of specs to the i230 5-iron - although it would be 0.5º more upright). Am I right in thinking that for the same swing speed I should see pretty similar yardages/launch characteristics? (maybe a hair less spin on the i525 but I'm not expecting much out of spin from a 5-iron). I would also love any thoughts from existing owners of the i525 5-iron in terms of turf interaction/forgiveness from tricky lies.

image.png.b62d39a54033575bed021818062804fc.pngimage.png.71e50f311db24bd582d7d61215a725cc.png

The wildcard alternative is to go for a regular spec i530 but get the 6-iron instead of the 5-iron. It's 0.5º stronger, but I'm guessing that won't be a huge difference - maybe 3-5yds on average. I don't love the idea of having two clubs marked 6 iron in the bag, but I am seeing a lot of positive reviews of the i530.

image.png.1ea42d90b2d7ffd05ccdd62135146335.png