Quest to break 90!

I've been playing for about 8-10 years on and off. Never really took lessons and had a best ever score of 96 previously. This year I decided to make a real effort and take up lessons. Even after 4 lessons so far my ball striking has significantly improved. I also now understand better how to chip and hit bunker shots. I got another lesson on wednesday to correct some certain parts of my swing and playing a round on Friday. I am destined to break 90 this time. Also been working on my putting as well to bring the scores down. I shot a 45 on a 9-hole where I had multiple 3 and 4 putts (terrible). I am hoping to put all the training together and break into the 80s.

Any tips mentally or just go out there and play my new and improved game and tally the score at the end??? I may keep the 4/5 iron in the bag unless I am confident I can make solid contact with it. I will just try to use my 6 or 7 and then hit it short and then chip it up.

Here's to hoping!

WITB:

Woods: Ping G430 LST, Ping G430Max 3w, Ping G430 3Hybrid (20°) / Titleist T200 2iron

Irons: 2023 Titleist T150 (6-GW), T200 (4-5)

Wedges: 54D12°, 60M08° Wedges

Putter: SC Newport 2.5+ 34"

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Best of luck OP! Taking lessons will definitely get you in the 80's sooner and also working on the short game (any shot inside 100 yards). My friends who struggle to break 90 or 100 don't have many tools inside 100 yards. Learning different techniques and shots will help you get it around a lot easier when other parts of your game are off. Another piece of advice is to think about playing more hybrids at the top of your bag as I see you mentioned using 4/5 irons. I start at a 5 hybrid and it has done wonders for my consistency. Keeping the ball in the short grass provides much fewer challenges when trying to crack 90.

Ping G400 Max Tour 65s
Titleist 917F2 15* EvenFlow 6.0
Titleist 917F2 18* Diamana Blue S
Titleist 818 H1 4H, Titleist 913 5H
Titleist 718 MB 6-PW with PX 6.0