2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

I've been lurking around here this week. Interesting place you guys have here.

I started playing Golf in 1998. I played weekly for a few years there, then several times a year, and then a few times a year. I finally figured out that I could sneak in some extra enjoyment by just hitting balls across my property when I didn't have time to play. Life is filled with so many distractions.

Anyway......I jumped into this sport back when Edwin Watts was packed full of the Big Bertha, Great Big Bertha, and Biggest Big Bertha; as well as the 975D and 975F clubs. I visited EW often, becoming a big fan of the used clubs section of the store. I remember the roll out of the GBB Hawkeye, and the GBB VFT & ERC; as well as the Adams Tight Lies and Orlimar Tri Metal woods just like it was yesterday. I look back upon this time period fondly. These are the clubs I like best. It seems like this was the most awesome time for golf clubs, especially the metal woods.

My favorite Driver is a 9.5* Titleist 983e with a Graphite Design YS-6 Stiff flex shaft. My Favorite Golf Club period is a 9.5* Titleist 975D with a Graphalloy ProLite Stiff flex shaft, and I have 2 of them.

(Taylor Made got passed up for a while by Callaway and Titleist clubs, imho. Callaway and Titleist were "IT" at the time.)

I played a set of Ping K1's, and then a couple sets of early model King Cobra Irons. I tried a bunch of different Ping putters, and then a few Odysseys. Cleveland was still a fully-fledged competitor in the club market; especially with their wedges. Cleveland made some awesome wedges.