2024 Wells Fargo Championship WITB Photos ×

Golf in the winter

fattmossett

This is my first year playing golf, so I haven't yet had the chance to play in the cold, but I've noticed the ground is already getting very hard (Oklahoma). For someone around the same area in the country, is playing feasible when it gets really cold? If not, what is the best mode of practice since I dont have a golf sim and the ranges are getting gross too.

Thanks 

• Like 2

13 minutes ago, Ifelloffladder said:

Been to Wisconsin many times during the winter. I don't know how you people play during winter! I wouldn't be able to swing with all the gear on.

you find what works for you, I usually wear a tight long sleeve, a golf shirt, a loose UA long sleeve and a thinner fleece, a hat, long socks and pants and have 2 hand warmers in my pockets to keep balls warm, and switch them every hole, I have thick shurpa gloves that attach to the push cart and am good to go

may favorite hole played was 2 days after christmas 2 years ago, hit a drive with a  TM 580 driver off of the 420 yard first hole, bounced till about 60 yards in, used putter for a straight uphill shot, crested it perfectly onto the green and had 3 feet for birdie. LOL

other times accidently hit it too well in the air just catches the green and have 50 yards coming back after landing on the green,  the rub of the course when it is frozen, makes for fun gambling

• Like 1

10 minutes ago, Wham49 said:

you find what works for you, I usually wear a tight long sleeve, a golf shirt, a loose UA long sleeve and a thinner fleece, a hat, long socks and pants and have 2 hand warmers in my pockets to keep balls warm, and switch them every hole, I have thick shurpa gloves that attach to the push cart and am good to go