2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

What about a shaft causes elbow pain

JSkinner

I'm not sure this is the right place for this or not.  I have been playing Modus 120 for a few years and no pain.  I was recently fitted for Modus 115 and from what I read they are stiffer in the handle.  Years ago I played PX but went away from it due to elbow pain.  What is it about a shaft that causes that pain?  A stiffer handle?  A stiffer tip?  I'm sure its unique to each persons delivery of the shaft but I was just wondering if anyone has some insight on this.  Thanks!

I find that shock/impact are what inflame my elbow. I’ve had some degree of elbow tendinitis ever since high school tennis. I wear a tennis elbow strap when I golf, and try to avoid hitting off mats. They are guaranteed to make my elbow sore, regardless of what kind of shaft I’m using.

In general, I’ve found that softer is better for the elbow. Especially in the butt and mid sections of the shaft. My basic assumption is that the additional flex is spreading out the impact and leading to less peak stress on the elbow tendons. Less weight also seems to help.

I was pretty confident I would move to graphite this year, but ended up in Modus 105s and they’re fine as long as I stick to grass. Feel and flight is similar to my old DG S300s, but lighter and a little better at shock absorption, since they tend to play a little soft to flex.

• Like 1

My elbow problems started in 2017 when I switched to Modus 120 X shafts.   Before them I was playing C-Taper 120s for several years, and before that was in PX 6.5.

My pain started about 3–4 weeks after the switch, gave them another month and by then it was pretty bad.  I ended up switching to graphite, tried several models, and eventually settled on Recoils.