2024 Wells Fargo Championship WITB Photos ×

Solo trip to St Andrews - 2020

I’m starting to scheme for a solo trip to Scotland in 2020. I did the same to Bandon this year and keeping a running thread on GolfWRX added to the experience both during planning and while I was there and once home. It was like bringing along the friends I obviously don’t have in real life lol (all my golf friends are more into Myrtle Beach or Vegas, where golf is an excuse for the trip, not the sole reason).

I’m looking at late April 2020 trip, after reading how quiet SA is when the rates jump. Would look to fly out of NYC Friday and return Sunday, which leaves 8 days for golf.

I’ve still got a lot of research to do but I’m golf history nut (have read a bunch, including Tommy’s Honor, George Peper’s 2 Years at St Andrews, DMK’s book about Castle) and I’m a relatively newbie architecture geek (dove in head-first before Bandon and loved Old Mac so much). So, St Andrews will def be my home base and I know I get so much out of a second or third round on a course (esp one with a lot of architectural nuance), so I might buck the trend and focus on playing fewer courses but multiple times and then filling in the gaps.

I’m fascinated by North Berwick so looking at the map, might start or end the trip with an overnight there (maybe 36 at NB and 18 at Gullane?). For some reason I have little to no interest in Muirfield (and my early sketch doesn’t have me there on a Tue or Thur). Complication is that Saturdays and Sundays have limited access.

In St Andrews I’m thinking just going TOC twice off the bat, especially if it’s as accessible as it sounds. From there I’m thinking of making the SA rounds at New, Castle, etc.