Pro V1 vs Titleist Tour Speed vs Maxfli Tour

t2490jh

I would give the tour b xs a good try, I switched from the prov1 to it this summer and get better distance off the tee and feels better off the putter and around the greens than any ball I have every used. the only downside is a little durability issue and I find they don't fly quite as far as the prov1 from the shorter full swing iron shots. However in most shops they are only $47 a dozen so you do save a little money compared to the prov's.

• Like 1

13 hours ago, t2490jh said:

I have been a Titleist Pro V1X player my whole life (apart from one year). Unbeknownst to me, I was not aware of the switch Titleist made with the flip flop in the V1 and V1x specs a few years ago. I found a few Pro V1 balls on my home course and started playing them. Being confused with the performance, I was a bit surprised on how the V1 was better than the V1X regarding spin and distance. Once I found out about the change, I sold all my remaining Pro V1X golf balls. I was disappointed with the compression and the spin on the new V1X version. So, I started my quest to get the perfect ball which fits my game.

My Equipment and Background:  I will be sixty-three this year and have a four handicap at my home course. I like playing at 6500-6700 yards. My driver swing speed is post 100 MPH and my average drive is 285-290. My 8-iron distance is 155 yards. I have the Srixon ZX7 irons with the Nippon 105 stiff shaft. My driver is the TM Sim2 head on a Ventus Black 6S shaft. This set up is only five months old. The easy decision would be to start paying for ProV1’s. But- I am cheap and I do not like paying $55 per dozen for golf balls. Below you will see the golf ball’s I have evaluated in the last month. I will tell you that I relied very heavily on the “My Spy Golf 2021 Golf Test” to select the following golf balls.

Titleist:  AVX, Tour Speed. Pro V1, Pro V1x

Srixon: Z-Star, Diamond, and XV

Callaway:  Chrome Soft

Taylor Made: TP5