3 questions: adding to bag, lateral hazard drop, and unmarked area

Question 1:

1) is finding golf balls along the way with no intent to play them (as they don't even match the balls I am playing for the round) a penalty? I was told that a guy got DQ'd from a tournament around here for picking up a few extra balls in the woods while helping another player search for his; not sure if I believe that (unless he played them which wasn't mentioned). 

What about picking up tees that are readily available on the tee box? I haven't bought a tee since I started playing. 

2) lateral (red) hazard drop: 2 club lengths or behind the hazard, in line with hazard entry point and the pin. So basically, the 2 club lengths would be used for a lateral hazard that goes into, say, trees so that I could get away from the trees, while I would go backwards if I had a lateral hazard that only crossed water and left me a clean shot? In that 2nd scenario, choosing either one really has no difference on the outcome. 

3) unmarked hazard edge of fairway. A couple of courses don't bother to mark all areas: one I play at has a forest on the right side of the fairway (great place to find a dozen new Pro V1s BTW. The houses behind the forest are definitely OB but what about that forest if it isn't marked? Lost ball? Or perhaps there is a local rule that explains it: on that course, everywhere else is OB for houses/yards and red for the trees lining the course. Everything else like it is marked red but that one specifically doesn't have a marking. 

Thanks in advance! 

1) You can pick up  any ball you find.. Unless required by a Local Rule  to use the same make and type of ball you can play any ball you found.) And you can pick up and use any tees you find.