Recommendations for iron set under 200??

CGray97

Hate to be that guy as I'm sure this question has been asked a lot and I know it's going to be tough to find a set for under 200.

I'm pretty new to golf but I enjoy it on the weekends, I'm not hardcore but would like to try to put together my own bag of clubs and really work on improving my game vs using different clubs ever other weekend. I've been looking at older pre owned Ping and Callaways but I really dont know what the best option would be in my price range. I also have a rough time figuring out which clubs are ancient and which clubs are somewhat more modern lol I guess I'm just looking for some guidance or good starting point on what irons I should look at picking up pre owned. Any help is greatly appreciated.

In that price range, you're probably talking like Ping Eye2 irons, or maybe some older G-series irons, G2, G5 maybe--not sure what those are going for these days. With Callaway, likely some of the early 2000s Big Bertha series irons are in that ballpark. You might check out some value-based brands like Tour Edge, too: that could be your best bang for buck as they are a more modern company & their equipment has never gone for top dollar that higher-tier brands do. Check around FB marketplace, nextroundgolf.com or ebay, as clubs in that price range are going to be hard to come by at many shops now unless you've got a play it again sports or some other reseller like that nearby.

Another option, if you're just learning: not a terrible idea to pick up a boxed set like they sell at Costco, or Wal-mart, or whatever. All standardized gear for someone just getting started, and it'll save you from wading thru decades-old clubs that could be too long/too short, too heavy, too stiff, etc. etc. As someone who buys a lot of decades old equipment lol there's a lot of variance out there.

• Like 2

I would go with older Ping irons. Indestructible. Anything Eye two or more recent. Any g series is great. 

• Like 4