2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

How do know when it's time to go to the yellow tees?

Tanner25

How do know when it's time to go to the yellow tees? I have been playing golf for 30 years and upon review of my last round of golf, even with my best tee shots I am still past 150 and out. Often I am 180-200 out on a par 4. I was thinking wow, wouldn't the game be more enjoyable if I was hitting a 5 iron instead of a fairway wood or once in a while have a wedge in your hand. I was just curious of those who made this transition, when did you do it and

what your experience has been like after the move to the yellow tees!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I wish I knew the answer to that question. I also suspect that the lack of response to your question is because of the difficultly that all of us have when we are faced to the effects of father time. It is really hard to imagine that we have to scoot up a might as we get older. We want to believe that somehow we can dodge the issue. We won't of course.

I have always been told that you move tees when you are not able to reach the green on a medium lenght par 4 with a driven and long iron. Hope that helps some.

[quote name='Tanner25' timestamp='1286925136' post='2740298']
How do know when it's time to go to the yellow tees? I have been playing golf for 30 years and upon review of my last round of golf, even with my best tee shots I am still past 150 and out. Often I am 180-200 out on a par 4. I was thinking wow, wouldn't the game be more enjoyable if I was hitting a 5 iron instead of a fairway wood or once in a while have a wedge in your hand. I was just curious of those who made this transition, when did you do it and
[/quote]

What is stopping you from playing any tee you want? In official events, your age will determine what tees you play.
In everyday play, you can play any set of tees you want. For handicap posting, just select the correct tee when you post a score.