Cobra F8 Driver - Who Knew?

paztormike

I just need to report on this club because I really am not seeing a whole lot of buzz about it, and I am quite blown away by the experience that my son and I are having with it.

I work in the golf industry and have access to a lot of equipment, I try to make sure that I am knowledgeable about current clubs, but to be honest I had not been paying much attention to Cobra for the past few years. In fact, I had assumed that Cobra was marketing to kids and women with all of the color choices. The marketing just did not seem to be geared toward better players.

My son is in High School and has gone through most of his growth spurts and has brought his Handicap down to the single digits. So far, he has been more than content to get clubs that I have handed down to him. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to take him to a store where he could try everything and decide for himself what would best suit him.

He had been playing a 2016 M2 that had a shaft that was fit for me that was probably a little heavy for him. He has a nice swing, but tends to overswing with driver and just doesn't consistently hit it all that well. After trying clubs from pretty much every manufacturer he had like the Ping G400 best even though he hit the Rogue a little farther. He was just more consistently long and straight with the Ping. (He has a SS of around 100-102 right now and generally does not spin the driver too much.)