I passed the first level referee exam

Yay, I'm a referee now! Or at least I passed the entry-level exam. :D Thank you to this forum as most of my rules knowledge and understanding beyond the basics have come from the wise and knowledgeable - while not always unanimous - people here! :)

I attended a one-day, level one course last Sunday held by a guy who has refereed in The Open and The U.S. Open. He seemed to be a great guy, certainly knowledgeable and very entertaining. As far as I'm aware he wasn't Mr. Bean or QEight though. :)

The level one allows you to work as a referee in tournaments held at your home club. I was slightly disappointed by that it was more basic than I thought it would be (even though I knew the decisions book wasn't a requirement) and the discussions got boggled down on some issues that deserved a mention but shouldn't have been actual issues to anyone who has read the rules book even once. Even so it was a good day and did bring up some new things I didn't know, had misunderstood or hadn't considered.

At the end of the day there was a test consisting of 20 multiple choice questions, clearly not at the level of the MGA quiz. 4 points for the correct ruling and an extra point for the correct rule. Of course I was aiming for the perfect score of 100, 95 would've been good and anything below 90 a huge disappointment - I got 95/100. There were a couple of questions I thought I might have gotten the ruling or the rule wrong but reading the correct answers I was slightly surprised to figure out the one I got wrong concerned 18-2 and putting green, I went astray placing too much emphasis on the phrase "a calm day" as opposed to considering the other bits of information.

I ordered the decisions book once I got home on Sunday and am waiting to get my hands on it. I do think I'll need to go through it a couple of times before I'd feel comfortable working as a referee. If I enjoy the work, I can take the level two course and exam next year.

• Like 2