What would you change about my workout routine?

NevinW

I'm 66 and I underwent meniscus surgery in July.  After PT I've decided to continue the weight lifting and had the Physical Therapist (not a golfer) start me on a routine. I've not been a weight lifting enthusiast in the past so I am a beginner.  I've probably done about 18 sessions so far and have increased weight and reps about every other session. I've stuck with machines to avoid injury (a priority).   I've also lost weight from 194 to 180 so far and have been playing as much golf as the weather allows along with hitting balls in a simulator 1-2 times per week.  However, my max swing speed is 92-93 mph these days and it has not really increased.  I'd REALLY like to increase that by golf season.  It used to be > 100 5-7 years ago.  

What I would like to know is whether the routine I am doing is headed in the right track to increase swing speed or should I be adding some exercises?  Are there any I shouldn't be doing?   More weight and less reps, or the opposite?  Thoughts and recommendations?

Thursday, January 6, 2022 at 9:14 AM

Bicep Curl (Machine)
Set 1: 55 lb × 12
Set 2: 55 lb × 9

Crunch (Machine)
Set 1: 105 lb × 12
Set 2: 110 lb × 12

Lateral Raise (Dumbbell)
Set 1: 8 lb × 12

Front Raise (Dumbbell)
Set 2: 8 lb × 12

Leg Extension (Machine)
Set 1: 70 lb × 12
Set 2: 70 lb × 12

Leg Press
Set 1: 120 lb × 12
Set 2: 120 lb × 12

Seated Leg Curl (Machine)
Set 1: 67 lb × 12
Set 2: 67 lb × 12

Calf Press on Seated Leg Press
Set 1: 100 lb × 12
Set 2: 100 lb × 12

Triceps Extension (Machine)
Set 1: 85 lb × 12
Set 2: 85 lb × 12

Torso Rotation (Machine)
Set 1: 110 lb × 12 each side

Back Extension (Machine)
Set 1: 80 lb × 12

Cycling
Set 1: 2 mi | 10:20

I would STRONGLY advise you to either continue to do what you are doing, OR get with a PT or fitness trainer who designs golf-specific workouts.  Golf specific workouts are NOT a DIY project, IMO.