2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Heavy lifting and Golf - Pros, Cons, everything in between.

Rosco1216

I couldn't find any golf fitness category so I decided to start this in general golf talk.
As many know there have been many threads regarding working out and golf. It's like beating a dead horse I know and I've always been one of the advocates and examples for what the benefits are. Of course there are also risks but I'm going to give a recent example of what I'm currently going through as a topic of injury prevention.
I've always worked out but 5-6 years ago I really started focusing on heavier squats and deadlifts. Then in October I decided to train for a powerlifting meet which is in 2 weeks on March 14th. I'm 37 years old and I've never done one before but I just wanted to do one for the experience. Throughout the experience I had aches and pain which you would expect from the type of intensity I was putting my body through. I've had some lingering back and hip pain off and on. Some days it restricts me and some days it doesn't. Now fast forward to last week, I had some pretty bad lower back pain and pain in the right hip. Much more than usual. It's a pain i hadn't had before but it dissipated after about 3 days and then after my next deadlift session it came back. At this points I was worried it may be a slipped disc or something like that and I was planning on shutting down deadlifts until meet day and maybe get a cortisone shot that would mask the pain just enough so I could get through the meet. Before I could get one I obviously needed to go and get images done. Here are my images! I have a very significant hip and spinal imbalance but nothing is broken or "injured'. This of course leads to the thought of whether my heavy powerlifting has been hurting me? @J13 is a buddy of mine and he commented on my IG post about it and I just wanted to kind of put this out there for the forums for discussion. Too much of something is never good thing and I don