2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

the aging golfer

I have been a hack my entire golfing life.. until recently. I started playing about the time I turned 21 so I learned to drink and play golf simultaneously. I never became very good at either.

28 years later I have been taking it more seriously. My kids play, I don't drink on the course, I bought decent irons for the first time in my life and I actually practice a bit.

Next week I turn 49. Right now I am strong and fit. I play stiff iron shafts and get a good turn. My hands are strong and fast. I can compress the ball and smash it like never before. Only in the last two years have I ever really, properly struck a golf ball.

I have to admit its allot more fun now.

So tell me Doc, how much time do I have left? Can you guys who are (older) still feel the ball compress with an iron? That feel, I think, is what I'll miss more than anything when it goes away.

When the game, for you, goes into course management mode does some of the lust go with it?

Or do you even notice?

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am 57. Got away from the game almost entirely 3 years ago. ( eye problems) I was longer at 54, than in my 20's because I learned to play over the years I played nine holes last week alone, for the first time in quite a while and I could see a huge difference in my yardage immediately. Almost 2 clubs in the irons. I know most of it is from not playing regularly, but I could feel a little loss of strength. After the 3rd hole, I put a make shift swing together and got along fairly well.

Carded a 45 with 3 doubles, and a fluke birdie.

I was surely in course management mode......lol.

Had fun, and I plan on getting out a little more in the future.