2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Steelfiber Disappointment

cyr67

I've been playing Steelfiber i95's (Private Reserve) in my 0317 Cb's for the past 5-6 rounds and have been very underwhelmed. I'm coming from Srixon 965's with ProModus 120X. The lofts are the same on both sets, but the 0317's with the 'fibers are shorter and don't feel as good. I expected to gain a few yards with these shafts as they are 25 grams lighter. This is my first time with graphite/hybrid shafts in irons. I tried them out before purchasing, but on course...well they are just not grabbing me, and I really don't think the issue is the 0317's. The Steelfiber launch higher than my 120's, are less accurate, and they just seem to lack pop. I've got osteoarthritis in my shoulder, so I decided to go lighter/graphite on the shafts, but I don't feel like they help there either. I play off a 6 and am a decent ball striker. Driver SS is around 110. Has anyone else had the same issues or concerns? I'm willing to give them more time, but I'm probably going back to my Srixons for my next round.

• Haha 1

I would say your issue is they are too light for you.  You most likely cannot feel the head as why you are not hitting them well.  Our swings sound similar, I have issues with hands and elbows but I went from KBS 130x to MMT125TX.  I test the 105 and I could not hit them.

I honestly don't think it is SF at all but the weight.  PXG also loves to get folks into lighter shafts during the fitting which is a hard process for those coming from heavier shafts.  Takes a long time for many to get used to that large of a change and they give up and go to a different set I have many friends that did that.  IMO, it was never the head, but the shafts they went with.

If you are looking for lighter and whippy, I think you may gain some distance but you will be all over the course.

Try a SF 115FC or a MMT option.

Good luck!

• Like 2

TaylorMade Stealth 2 Plus 9 Ventus Velocore Blue 6x Tipped 1 inch