Grips getting stuck halfway

Trap Junior

I've been gripping clubs for 15 years no problem. Lately I have had grips getting stuck when I am putting them on. At first I thought I wasn't using enough white spirit so made sure to use plenty of it inside the grip and on the shaft itself. Today I was putting on a grip and it didn't go on the full way and got stuck. I 100% used enough solvent so I am at a loss what the problem is. Could it be that the tape I'm using has gone bad? Has this happened to anyone? I'm using the Tour velvet full cord with 5 layers of tape. As I said I've been using this amount of tape and grip for 15 years with no problem whatsoever until now.

I’ve had issue sometimes when the grip is really cold. Didn’t flex as much making it tough. Garages here in Idaho this time of year get cold!

Callaway Rogue w/ Diamana DF 60TX<br />Cobra king Ltd 3 wood w/ tensei pro blue 70s<br />Cobra king utility black<br />Srixon z785 w/ Nippon modus 120s 4-p<br

I think that all of us who have installed grips for a long period of time have experienced this issue at one time or another. It also seems like you have been doing it long enough to have covered the usual suspects - not enough solvent, not working fast enough, etc., etc., etc.

I certainly can't say that this is the problem in your particular case, but I did have one experience where grip installation suddenly became much more difficult that it should be - and it occurred with Tour Velvet grips. So, maybe you have run into the same thing...

For whatever reason, it seems like a certain number of really popular grips - like Tour Velvets and Lamkin Crosslines - come with a .580 rather than .600 core. That .020 difference can turn a normal installation into a nightmare.

Just a guess, but maybe that's the problem.

Cleveland Launcher HB 10.5* - Stock Miyazaki C. Kua 50 Stiff
Callaway Diablo Octane Tour 13* - Aldila NV 75 Stiff
or
Callaway Diablo Edge Tour 15* - Accra Dymatch M5 75
Mizuno F-50 18* - Stock Stiff