Single digit handicap with awful flat swing

e-man

Hey everyone.  I’ve been playing for 40 years (currently 53 year old).  Index is currently 4.8.  I’ve always had a flat swing but never knew how flat until getting a mat and net in my garage and videoing myself.  I take the club outside initially, roll my wrists to a really flat position, wrap the club behind me (like I’d smash a wall if there was one there) and then reroute the club back on plane in my downswing and make pretty good contact.  I’ve tried so many different drills (including the one where I pick the club straight up and then turn the shoulders), but my regular swing is still awful, flat and just plain ugly.  Any ideas as to how I can take the club back more upright and consistently on plane?  Video of swing with a 5 iron attached.  Thank you!!!

15 minutes ago, e-man said:

Just watched one of Monte’s no turn cast videos.  No way that will work (lol), but I’m willing to try anything.  I’ll give it a shot the next time I have the net set up and will post up a video.  Thanks for the help. 

The old video on YouTube is a decade old. You need the new series on his website. It's 30 bucks and is so much more complete. 

If your wrists have normal range of movement you can move them properly. The change just has to be made slowly. 

Yep, I’ve actually emailed with Jim.  A light bulb went off when I watched one of his arm swing illusion videos.  The problem is that I just can’t execute it.  The arms take over, wrap behind me and then I have to manipulate to get back to square.  On good days (which are more frequent than bad days), I’m able to do it, which is why my index is good.  But the bad days are really bad, to the point where I don’t know which way the ball is going. 

7 hours ago, e-man said: