2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Exiting low and left? Is this a swing change anyone's made?

Pauly567

I've been struggling with my ballstriking for a while. I know there are a million things can cause this, but I've been starting to play around with releasing the club low and left. My current release is up the line and the hands come in high compared to where they started at address. I like the contact with low and left, but I just started experimenting with this and it's with half swings. Should I decide to go down this road, this would be by far the most radical swing change I've ever made, as I've been releasing up the line for 20 years. Are there any advantages to using this method? Seems for like every great player who swings like this (Hogan), I could find another who releases more up the line and with higher hands (Jack for example, and he wasn't to shabby). This swing also seems to keep me in my sidebend after impact longer. As someone who's had lower back issues, is this kind of release sustainable into my later years, or is this meant for younger players? Any thoughts on this are appreciated. 

Edited by Pauly567

Having a sequence designed with harnessing opposing force in mind routing low and left is valid and powerful.  It takes some work but is work but well worth it.  It's been called 'orbit pull' and if that is your cup of tea here's your guy with what you need to do- the land of hooking your way in and slicing your way out, FROM THE INSIDE. 

Edited by BALLYBUNION

I swung out from underneath myself, from the lower part of my body.   Byron Nelson

2 hours ago, cav5 said:

IMO exiting low and left is a TERRIBLE swing thought

Thank you.  Wipe fade city or left of left if you don’t have some serious rotation and flexibility . And I’m flexible.  Lol. 

Edited by bladehunter
  • Like 2

Cobra LTD X 9* Hzrdus RDX blue 

TM Sim2 max tour  16* GD  ADHD 8x 

Ping i530 4-Uw AWT 2.0 

Mizuno T22 raw 52-56-60 s400

LAB Mezz Max armlock