Lesson Learned, New isn't always better!

ADB

So my unintended experiment in irons has come to an end. I had been paying a set of Ping G5 irons for the last 9 years. This year I decided it was time for a change, After goign to a demo day I settled on a set of Titleist AP1 irons with the AWT Red shaft. in terms of loft it htese Titleist play one club stronger (ie my Ping g5 7 iron is 34 degrees, the Titleist is 30 and so on). After around 8 round or so I came to the conclusion that the new Titleist were not a good fit. Yes, they were definitely longer even more so than just reflective in loft, but I had inconsistent ball flight. I hot alot of low shots, pushed shots, just never consistent compared to my old G5's. So I bit the bullet and sold them on Ebay earnign back nearing what I paid.

Still I wasnt satisfied and decided that perhaps Ping was a better fit, ran out and bought a set of Ping G irons with the AMT shafts. Again, lofts stronger club to club compared to the G5's. After playing several rounds I consistently was not longer club to club and in fact seemed to be leaving shots short. Ball flight was okay but again compared to the consistency of my G5's. they simply didnt measure up for me. I guess the moral here at least for me is, sometimes newer just isnt better. The G5's consistently provide me with better ball flight, accuracy and consistent distance that I just never saw from either the Titleist or the Ping G30's. Its back to my old set and frankly, I see no reason to experiment any further. I already have a buyer for the Ping G30's at a loss of $100 (not terrible).

Anyone else have similar experiences with older irons?

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic