The Dreaded Ball how to have practice swings match contact swings?

grantc79

My biggest current struggle is tension in my swing.

The tension does not exist until I am going to hit a ball. I can make the most relaxing smooth practice swings ever, but when its time to hit the ball I could not repeat that smooth practice swing if my life depended on it. My swing gets more jerky, tense, and anxious.

I have been this way ever since I started playing golf. I have learned how to play with it and make it work but I would love to correct it.

Anyone else struggle with this or had a breakthrough?

WITB: 

Aerojet 10.5 Ventus 7S

Cobra Tec 17, 21, 24 hybrids

New Level 623 CB 5-PW

Mizuno S23 52, 56, 60

the practice swing is garbage for this reason. you dont hit the practice swing off the toe or thin. the practice swing feels great because there is a large margin for error and subconsciously there is nothing to react to. the ball is what you react to. you could swing with your eyes closed, but you may not like the results. the point of the swing is to steer the ball to the target. embrace the ball. love the ball

send it home.

you'll see alot of pros have a warm up routine with a partial swing or some drill to reinforce a feel. get comfortable. get the right feel and save that amazing feeling swing for the ball.

PING G400 MAX 10*, Ventus Blue 6X

Cleveland HiBore XL 2 Wood - THE GOAT

Cobra F6 Baffler 17,5*, AD DI 8S

Cobra F7 Hybrid 21.5*, AD DI 95S

Srixon ZX5mk2 5, ZX7mk2 6-PW Modus 120x

50/54/60 Cleveland RTX6 Zipcore DG Spinner

> @scooterhd2 said:

> the practice swing is garbage for this reason. you dont hit the practice swing off the toe or thin. the practice swing feels great because there is a large margin for error and subconsciously there is nothing to react to. the ball is what you react to. you could swing with your eyes closed, but you may not like the results. the point of the swing is to steer the ball to the target. embrace the ball. love the ball