2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Torn on iron fitting

Golferguy209

Hey all,

I need a bit of help. So I’ve been playing golf for nearly 20 years, since age 10, and have never had a proper iron fitting. Currently playing cobra pro cb/mb with project x 6.0 that were released in 2008/2009. They’ve worked for me but now I feel I’m in a spot financially to upgrade my irons.

So I got fitted at local shop that came highly recommended. Going into the fitting I was a bit nervous because I’ve been working through some swing faults. After working through my 7 iron, the fitter first started by trying to zero in on my shaft. Ended up the project x 6.0 was perfect for my swing. Now the head, eventually settled on Callaway apex pro with titleist t100s being a close second. Numbers showed I had the lowest spin without giving up distance on apex pro. Initially I was shocked, I wasn’t really looking at the apex pro going into the fitting. I had been thinking about maybe titleist, mizuno or taylormade. Since the fitting I’ve been watching and reading videos on apex pro, and reviews are good. I’m torn between apex pro and t100. Here was problem with fitting, I didn’t try any cobra heads, jpx919, t100 head wasn’t in the shop (from what I’ve read there is a difference between t100 and t100s), and taylormade p730 was just discontinued.

My thought is to go to a different fitter, thinking Haggin Oaks in Sacramento area, and try again. In the mean time, I’m still working on my confidence with irons and trying to schedule a lesson.

Any advice you have would be great!

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic